About us

Head Office

The City of Plymouth Credit Union is a not for profit, member-owned financial organisation dedicated to the economic development of the community of Plymouth, Devon, Cornwall, and the Isles of Scilly. We provide financial services to all our members including those who have been excluded from traditional services.

Our History

1997 - The West Plymouth Credit Union was officially registered. Our common bond was limited to Mount Wise, Devonport, Keyham, Ford, Stoke and Pennycomequick.

1999 - Moved into first office at Community Corner, Wolseley Road Flats.

1999 - Our common bond was expanded to include North Prospect, Ham, Camels Head, Peverell and Pennycross.

2001 - Moved into current office at 14 Cumberland Street, Devonport.

2002 - Accounts computerised and first paid staff employed.

2002 - Credit unions became subject to regulation by the Financial Services Authority.

2006 - Our common bond was expanded to include the whole of Plymouth and our name was changed to the City of Plymouth Credit Union.

2007 - Began offering our capacity-based Wise Finance loans.

2010 - Plymouth City Council and Plymouth CityBus payroll deduction schemes launched.

2011 - Our Local Housing Allowance scheme launched.

2011 - New website enabling online account access launched.

2016 - Merger with HOPE Credit union.

Are you eligible to join?

Centred and operating primarily in Plymouth, the City of Plymouth Credit Union is open to anyone who lives or works in the city of Plymouth, Devon, Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly. We also offer corporate accounts to businesses operating in this area.

Why not Join Us?